India's medical and pharmacy education discovery platform
Pharmacy courses NEET resources Counselling help
GMC

Coimbatore Medical College, Coimbatore — Fees

Coimbatore, Tamil NaduGovernmentMBBS · institutional training
Government collegeNEET-UG · MBBSCoimbatore
Coimbatore Medical College

Fees

MBBS first-year state schedule · 2026–27

The Tamil Nadu prospectus gives this schedule for government medical colleges. It is not a newly issued Coimbatore cashier bill and does not include hostel or living costs. Obtain the joining demand and adjust for accepted concessions.

MBBS first-year state schedule · 2026–27
ComponentAmount
Tuition₹6,000
Special fee₹2,000
Caution deposit₹1,000
Library₹1,000
University₹7,473
Group insurance₹300
Red Cross₹100
Flag Day₹100
Miscellaneous₹100
Total₹18,073

Concessions in the state prospectus

The prospectus lists ₹18,073 for OC/BC/BCM/MBC, ₹12,073 for SC/SCA/ST and ₹10,073 for persons with disabilities. These are category schedules, not discounts to subtract a second time. The institution must accept the supporting documents and confirm the actual amount payable.

MD/MS and DM/MCh · year not stated

These are the amounts displayed on the college fee page. Its academic year and payment-period basis are unspecified. Treat them as published references, not verified 2026–27 demands or full-course totals.

MD/MS and DM/MCh · year not stated
ComponentMD/MSDM/MCh
Tuition₹40,000₹50,000
Special₹10,000₹10,000
Library₹1,000₹1,000
Caution deposit₹2,000₹2,000
University registration₹18,750₹22,936
Listed total₹71,750₹85,936

Allied-health fee references · year not stated

The college groups the five listed BSc programmes under one tariff. The technician figure has no stated payment period. Internship, examination, hostel and later revised charges cannot be inferred from this table.

Allied-health fee references · year not stated
GroupFirst year / listed chargeSecond yearThird year
Five listed BSc programmes₹5,413₹3,000₹3,000
DMLT / DRDT / DRTT₹1,500₹1,500Not listed
DPharm₹2,602₹602Not listed
Listed technician courses₹1,450; period unspecifiedNot listedNot listed

What to confirm before paying

Reconcile the fee demand against anything already paid through counselling. Ask which deposits are refundable, whether university/examination charges are included, and whether an exemption applies to your category. Use the calculator below only for your own planning; blank costs remain unknown rather than becoming zero.

Ask separately about hostel deposit, room charges, mess advance and monthly mess bills.

Record the period covered by each amount; do not multiply one-time charges by every year.

Obtain current institutional payment instructions and retain receipts.

Ask for the applicable stipend and bond documents if joining an internship, PG or superspecialty programme.

Build a cost sheet that matches your programme

Use separate lines for tuition, university or registration charges, one-time deposits, examination payments, accommodation, mess and personal expenses. An amount collected at joining is not automatically an annual tuition fee, and an annual fee is not the price of the whole course. Category concessions apply only when their conditions and documents are accepted. Keep any payment already made through counselling in the reconciliation so that the same head is not counted twice. A hostel deposit may be refundable under its own conditions; mess consumption and personal expenses should not be presented as fixed academic charges.

Evidence context: existing college material reviewed 23 September 2026. Added institutional context reviewed 15 October 2026. Individual tables retain their own source years; no new historical series is implied.

Listed fee-head total₹18,0732026–27 government MBBS schedule
University₹7,473
Tuition₹6,000
Special fee, including medical examination₹2,000
Caution deposit₹1,000
Library₹1,000
LIC group insurance₹300
Red Cross₹100
Miscellaneous₹100
Flag Day₹100
The total includes a deposit and university charges. It is not tuition alone, a hostel package or a verified full-course total.

Understanding the qualification and evidence

01

Read the government MBBS amount in its original context

The 2026–27 Tamil Nadu government-MBBS schedule lists tuition of ₹6,000 and a published total of ₹18,073 across the stated heads. The heads include special, library and university charges, a caution deposit and smaller specified contributions. Accommodation, meals and personal travel need separate entries. A family comparing written demands can retain the printed head names and amounts rather than combine them into a single unexplained number. The fee period and any subsequent joining notice should stay with the figure.

02

Category-linked payment figures are a separate table

The same prospectus's online-payment table distinguishes ₹18,073 for OC, BC, BCM and MBC government-MBBS candidates from ₹12,073 for SC, SCA and ST candidates. It also gives a separate ₹10,073 government MBBS/BDS entry for persons with benchmark disabilities under the stated provision. These are the document's category-labelled payment references, not a personal eligibility decision for a reader. They should not be combined into a claim that every student pays the same net amount. The online table and the detailed fee-head table also use different headings, so the reader should retain the document context instead of assuming that each reference describes tuition alone. Any applicable certificate and the candidate's authorised allotment remain part of establishing the correct payment for the individual case.

03

Joining cash and eventual cost answer different questions

A refundable caution deposit affects the money needed at joining even though it is conceptually different from a charge paid for teaching or a service. Likewise, a reimbursement that may be considered later does not necessarily reduce the amount immediately due. Keeping these stages apart helps avoid a cash-flow gap created by subtracting an uncertain benefit too early. This page does not supply an invented refund date or presume that a concession applies. It provides a way to place the published charge and any later authenticated demand into a clear account of what must be paid, when and to whom.

04

Keep financial records separate

A course-specific fee enquiry should identify the exact training title, award, academic session and collecting institution. The amount attached to a medical-degree allotment cannot establish the price of a shorter technical route. This matters for families comparing several healthcare qualifications at the same campus: the institution name may be the same while the admission rules and payment arrangements differ. The training counts remain labelled as undated documentary references.

05

Hostel, food and transport belong to a different cost sheet

Unverified residential expenses should therefore be written as separate unresolved budget items rather than added as a fabricated annual package. If a residence quotation becomes available, its period matters: a monthly mess payment, a room deposit and an academic-year accommodation charge are different commitments. The route between accommodation, academic areas and the hospital also affects practical spending. A lower quoted rent may not produce a lower overall residential cost when additional travel is involved, but no local rent or commuting fare is assumed here. A complete family calculation uses their own verified residential arrangement and keeps the medical-college charge distinct from the living costs attached to that arrangement.

06

Compare government-college schedules without overlooking seat type

A common government-MBBS fee schedule does not make the colleges’ seat allocations identical. A fee comparison must therefore follow the applicant's actual institution, course, category and allotment route. These distinctions keep financial research connected to the correct college identity. The purpose is a fair comparison of documented options, not a claim that a low published academic charge determines hostel availability, teaching quality or the full cost of completing the qualification.

07

A worked comparison of the printed payment rows

The difference between the prospectus’s ₹18,073 and ₹12,073 government-MBBS payment references is ₹6,000. That arithmetic helps the reader see why category-labelled rows should not be collapsed into one universal amount. It does not determine an individual’s category, establish a scholarship payment or certify a joining bill. The detailed schedule and the online-payment table should retain their own headings and applicable conditions. A family can compare their authorised demand with the relevant printed reference and query a discrepancy through the proper process. They should not subtract the difference again from an amount that has already been calculated for the applicable category, or apply the same adjustment to an unrelated diploma or residential charge.

Related educational context

01

A payment period belongs beside every amount

A fee comparison becomes difficult when one document gives a yearly amount and another describes a whole programme. Before comparing the numbers, write down the period each covers. A shorter payment interval does not automatically mean a cheaper qualification, and a longer published academic duration does not prove how many identical fee payments will be collected. If an authorised later notice revises an amount, retain the earlier reference with its date and record which instruction governs the payment now being requested. This makes the comparison intelligible without inventing a total. It also helps a family distinguish a first payment, a recurring charge and a deposit whose treatment is stated separately.

02

Keep a receipt record for the correct purpose

An application acknowledgement, an allotment order and a fee receipt serve different purposes. One shows that an application step was completed, another identifies an offered seat and another records a payment. A student should not treat a receipt for one process as proof that every admission or reporting requirement has been completed. A practical record can identify the issuing authority, qualification, payment description, date and any reference supplied through the authorised process. It need not be published on a public profile or shared in an open comment. The purpose is to keep the applicant's own transactions understandable, particularly where several academic and administrative payments occur around the same period.

03

Separate planned spending from an institutional charge

Books, personal travel and an individual's residential arrangements can affect a household budget without becoming charges imposed by the medical college. A student can keep those planned expenses in a separate worksheet and update them when actual arrangements are known. This page does not assign local prices to make the worksheet look complete. It is more useful to label the expense, its likely payment period and whether a current quotation exists. That approach prevents a personal estimate from being repeated later as an official college fee. It also allows two families with different living arrangements to use the same academic reference without assuming that their overall study costs will be identical.

04

Compare qualifications before comparing prices

The price of a medical degree and the price of a technical-training award describe different educational commitments. Their duration, prior-study requirements and learning purposes need to be understood before any financial comparison is meaningful. A prospective MBBS student should not choose a laboratory or technician qualification on the assumption that a smaller fee buys the same professional pathway. Equally, a learner interested in a defined technical role need not treat MBBS as the only relevant healthcare qualification. The sensible comparison joins the exact award and its verified admission requirements to the applicable payment document. A missing amount for one route remains unresolved rather than being substituted with the charge attached to another course.

Updated 30 October 2026. Figures retain the document periods stated beside them.

Compare0 Get Counselling
⇄

0 colleges selectedAdd up to four colleges to compare

Compare now →