Goa Medical College, Panaji · Goa.
Goa Medical College, Panaji
MBBS: NEET UG; DTE Goa state process and MCC All India Quota. MD/MS: NEET PG. DM/M.Ch: NEET SS.
About Goa Medical College, Panaji
Goa Medical College is a government teaching institution at Bambolim. Its historical roots go back to the Escola Medico Cirurgica de Goa founded in 1842; the Goa Medical College name dates from 1963. These are different milestones, so a single unexplained “established” year can be misleading. The college is affiliated with Goa University.
Although the directory title uses Panaji, applicants should plan their academic reporting around the Bambolim campus and the location stated on their allotment and joining documents. Goa Medical College and Hospital is the principal clinical environment, with specialist services and community training at RHTC Mandur. A hospital department does not, by itself, establish permission for a degree.
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Exact directory identity | Goa Medical College, Panaji · college record 147 |
| Campus locality | Bambolim, Goa |
| Ownership and affiliation | Government · Goa University |
| Undergraduate medical intake | 250 MBBS annual intake in NMC table dated 18 September 2026, AY 2026–27 |
| Medical postgraduate catalogue | 32 individually named MD/MS/DM/M.Ch qualifications in NMC table dated 29 September 2026 |
| Allied-health catalogue | Five bachelor titles and eight named MPT/MOT specialisations in GMC’s undated institutional listing; current intake not inferred |
| Medical admissions | NEET UG / NEET PG / NEET SS according to qualification and quota |
| Fees | Current full tuition and residential invoice not retrieved; do not use the mislabelled MD/MS web table |
Academic study and clinical learning
The course catalogue separates basic medical education, broad-speciality postgraduate medicine, superspeciality practice and allied-health qualifications. Undergraduate students build biomedical knowledge before progressively supervised clinical training. Postgraduate entry begins with a different prior qualification and examination. Admission to MBBS does not include a reserved postgraduate seat.
The hospital setting makes ward work, outpatient assessment, diagnostic interpretation and supervised procedures central to clinical education. The institutional infrastructure page identifies the Bambolim hospital, the Respiratory Medicine Hospital at St Inez and RHTC Mandur. Its detailed bed table is dated 31 May 2023, so this profile does not relabel those numbers as a current patient-load or bed-capacity audit.
Library, practical facilities and student residence
The college describes a multilevel medical library with reference materials, journals, internet-enabled computers and a separate reading room. Teaching facilities include lecture halls and departmental laboratories. Availability of a specific database, laboratory session or room is governed by local access and timetabling; published infrastructure is not proof that every service is open at every hour.
Separate hostel facilities for male and female students are described by the institution. A course allotment is not a hostel allotment. Ask for the allocated building, room-sharing arrangement, check-in date, deposit conditions and separate mess requirements before committing to accommodation.
Before choosing this college
Use the Courses page for individually named qualifications and dated medical intake. Read Fees by its actual cost scope and Cutoffs by examination, quota, category and round. Careers and internship planning should distinguish completion of training, professional registration and competitive entry to further study; none is a guaranteed placement package.
Selected institutional and programme information reviewed 19 October 2026. Current tuition, residence prices, state-quota rank tables and joining-year allied-health rules are specific remaining evidence gaps. No review score, ranking, salary or placement percentage has been invented.
Academic choices at Goa Medical College
The following are the individually named entries retained in this college’s catalogue. The intake column keeps its dated source scope; it does not show live vacancies, guarantee a category allocation or create a qualification from a hospital department.
| Named qualification | Dated intake reference | Evidence scope |
|---|---|---|
| MBBS | 250 | NMC UG dated table, PDF page 9 |
| M.D. Anatomy | 4 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 31 |
| M.D. Physiology | 5 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 31 |
| M.D. BioChemistry | 4 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 31 |
| M.D. Pharmacology | 10 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 31 |
| M.D. Anaesthesiology | 10 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 31 |
| M.D. Pathology | 3 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 31 |
| M.D. Microbiology | 3 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 31 |
| M.D. Forensic Medicine and Toxicology/Forensic Medicine | 5 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.D. General Medicine | 14 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.S. General Surgery | 15 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.S. Obstetrics and Gynaecology | 8 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.S. Orthopaedics | 3 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.S. Ophthalmology | 5 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.D. Paediatrics | 10 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.D. Dermatology, Venereology and Leprosy/Dermatology | 5 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.D. Radio-Diagnosis /Radiology | 7 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.D. Psychiatry | 8 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.D. Respiratory Medicine/Tuberculosis & Respiratory Diseases | 6 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.S. Otorhinolaryngology/ENT | 4 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.D. Geriatrics | 2 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.D. Immuno Haematology and Blood Transfusion | 2 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.D. Community Medicine/Social & Preventive Medicine | 7 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.Ch. Neurosurgery | 2 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| D.M. Cardiology | 3 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| D.M. Nephrology | 2 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.Ch. Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery | 1 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.Ch. Urology | 2 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| D.M. Cardiac Anaesthesia | 1 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| M.Ch. Cardio Vascular and Thoracic Surgery | 2 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| D.M. Endocrinology | 2 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| D.M. Medical Oncology | 2 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| D.M. Neurology | 2 | NMC PG dated table, PDF page 32 |
| Bachelor of Physiotherapy | Not stated | GMC Allied Health Sciences course table; programme identity established, current-year intake not established |
| Bachelor of Occupational Therapy | Not stated | GMC Allied Health Sciences course table; programme identity established, current-year intake not established |
| Bachelor of Optometry | Not stated | GMC Allied Health Sciences course table; programme identity established, current-year intake not established |
| Bachelor of Medical Imaging Technology | Not stated | GMC Allied Health Sciences course table; programme identity established, current-year intake not established |
| Bachelor of Anaesthesia Technology | Not stated | GMC Allied Health Sciences course table; programme identity established, current-year intake not established |
| Master of Physiotherapy — Musculoskeletal Disorders & Sports Medicine | Not stated | GMC Allied Health Sciences PG specialisation table; historical seat subdivisions not presented as current intake |
| Master of Physiotherapy — Neurosciences | Not stated | GMC Allied Health Sciences PG specialisation table; historical seat subdivisions not presented as current intake |
| Master of Physiotherapy — Paediatrics | Not stated | GMC Allied Health Sciences PG specialisation table; historical seat subdivisions not presented as current intake |
| Master of Physiotherapy — Community Physiotherapy and Rehabilitation | Not stated | GMC Allied Health Sciences PG specialisation table; historical seat subdivisions not presented as current intake |
| Master of Occupational Therapy — Neurosciences | Not stated | GMC Allied Health Sciences PG specialisation table; historical seat subdivisions not presented as current intake |
| Master of Occupational Therapy — Musculoskeletal Sciences & Health Rehabilitation | Not stated | GMC Allied Health Sciences PG specialisation table; historical seat subdivisions not presented as current intake |
| Master of Occupational Therapy — Mental Health Sciences | Not stated | GMC Allied Health Sciences PG specialisation table; historical seat subdivisions not presented as current intake |
| Master of Occupational Therapy — Paediatrics & Developmental Disabilities | Not stated | GMC Allied Health Sciences PG specialisation table; historical seat subdivisions not presented as current intake |
Understanding selected course choices
MBBS
mbbs specialty knowledge and supervised practice
Duration: 4½ academic years plus one-year rotating internship
Entry qualification: Recognised school qualification with the prescribed Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology and English requirements; NEET UG qualification and current age/category conditions
Admission route: NEET UG; DTE Goa for eligible state seats and MCC for notified All India Quota seats
Fee scope: Tuition must be read against the exact qualification, quota and joining-year schedule; no current tuition figure inferred from intake
M.D. Anatomy
human structure, dissection-based teaching and applied anatomical relationships
Duration: Three-year postgraduate/superspeciality route after the eligible preceding qualification
Entry qualification: Recognised MBBS, completed internship by the session deadline and medical registration, together with NEET PG eligibility
Admission route: NEET PG; DTE Goa for applicable state postgraduate seats and MCC for notified All India Quota seats
Fee scope: Tuition must be read against the exact qualification, quota and joining-year schedule; no current tuition figure inferred from intake
These are selected entries from this institution’s retained catalogue. A source-listed intake is not a live vacancy count.
Programme catalogue at a glance
This chart counts named catalogue entries by qualification grouping. It does not show seat quotas, students, placement outcomes or live vacancies. Source: MedCollege’s named-programme catalogue, snapshot 22 October 2026. Counts describe catalogue entries; the underlying programme source years remain separately labelled above.
- MBBS: 1 entries
- MD: 17 entries
- MS: 5 entries
- M.Ch: 4 entries
- DM: 6 entries
- Allied UG: 5 entries
- Allied PG: 8 entries
| Qualification grouping | Named entries | Unit |
|---|---|---|
| MBBS | 1 | Catalogue entries, not seats |
| MD | 17 | Catalogue entries, not seats |
| MS | 5 | Catalogue entries, not seats |
| M.Ch | 4 | Catalogue entries, not seats |
| DM | 6 | Catalogue entries, not seats |
| Allied UG | 5 | Catalogue entries, not seats |
| Allied PG | 8 | Catalogue entries, not seats |
Questions about Goa Medical College?
Discuss the qualification, fee scope and admission research with MedCollege. Guidance is separate from college allotment and reporting.
Explore Goa Medical College
Goa Medical College admission routes
Choose the qualification before filling a form. MBBS, postgraduate medical degrees, superspeciality training and allied-health programmes have different prior qualifications and selection processes. Being eligible for an examination does not automatically make a candidate eligible for every Goa quota.
| Programme | Entrance / prior qualification | Counselling distinction |
|---|---|---|
| MBBS | NEET UG and the prescribed school/age eligibility | DTE Goa for eligible state seats; MCC for notified AIQ seats |
| MD / MS | NEET PG; recognised MBBS, internship and registration | DTE Goa state postgraduate process versus MCC AIQ |
| DM / M.Ch | NEET SS by NBEMS; exact specialty feeder qualification | Applicable MCC superspeciality counselling |
| Allied-health bachelor titles | Course-specific school and merit rules | Separate DTE Goa allied-health process |
| MPT / MOT specialisations | Relevant bachelor qualification and course conditions | Separate PG allied-health application / selection |
From examination to allocation
First satisfy the relevant entrance bulletin, including document and internship requirements for the course. Register for each counselling system in which you are eligible. State and All India registrations should not be assumed interchangeable. Use the exact Goa Medical College entry and programme when recording choices.
For Goa state participation, read the session’s residence, schooling, category and other eligibility provisions. This profile does not reduce those provisions to an unverified blanket domicile rule. Keep certificates in the prescribed format and do not assume a central category document automatically satisfies a state claim.
Documents and reporting
Prepare the entrance result, identity/date-of-birth evidence, qualifying-examination records, allotment document and any category or eligibility certificates supporting the exact claim. PG candidates also need their professional qualification, internship-completion and registration evidence as specified for that session. Originals and copies serve different verification purposes.
After an allotment, follow the authority’s acceptance, payment, reporting and upgrade instructions within its published window. Match the campus and department on the joining communication; request a separate hostel allocation. Non-reporting and a request for upgrade can have different consequences under the applicable rules.
What an application button can and cannot do
MedCollege guidance can help you organise course and counselling questions. It is not a direct-admission offer, payment portal, official counselling registration or seat guarantee. Requests made through our own counselling/contact links do not replace the admitting authority’s application.
Current joining-year DTE rule documents were access-blocked during this review. Exact deadlines, category allocations, bond amounts and fee concessions are not reproduced from an older session. Use the dated current notices and keep the programme/round distinction when checking an update.
Goa Medical College fees: keep the payment scope clear
A reliable fee comparison needs the qualification, admitting quota, joining year and payment period. The current DTE degree prospectus is listed for 2026–27, but its complete fee document could not be retrieved during this review. The tuition, hostel rent and refundable deposits are therefore not quoted as verified current amounts. Missing prices do not mean education or accommodation is free.
The institutional MD/MS page contains a table whose column refers to postgraduate allied-health courses. Its tuition figure is not treated as an MD/MS quote. Similarly, the hospital’s patient-service charges are not student tuition. No other Goa institution’s fee schedule has been substituted.
| Cost line | How to read it | Current scope |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Confirm semester / annual / full-course basis and student quota | Current joining-year figure not established |
| Admission / university charges | Identify one-time and recurring charges separately | Do not multiply a one-time joining charge |
| Library / caution deposits | Confirm refund conditions and deductions | Not equivalent to tuition |
| Hostel | Room category, period, allocation and maintenance | Accommodation price not established |
| Mess | Separate deposit, advance or actual monthly bill | Not assumed included |
| NRI / foreign-currency category | Obtain an explicit category-specific quote | No INR-to-foreign-currency substitution |
A dated example of examination charges — not tuition
GMC’s notice dated 5 March 2026 concerns the Third Professional Part I MBBS supplementary examination for the 2022–23 batch. It provides the following exam-component examples. These are historical charges for that examination notice, not a 2026–27 admission invoice or a full-course fee.
| Component | First appearance | Second appearance |
|---|---|---|
| Community Medicine theory, Papers I & II | ₹1,120 | ₹1,690 |
| Forensic Medicine & Toxicology theory | ₹560 | ₹845 |
| Practical examination, listed subject component | ₹705 | ₹1,410 |
| Examination registration | ₹420, one-time in the notice | Not multiplied per subject |
| Form and marksheets | ₹190, one-time in the notice | Not multiplied per subject |
No combined payable total is calculated here: the applicable subject entries, attempt and one-time components depend on the individual examination application. A student applying for admission should request the separate tuition-and-joining demand, not budget from this supplementary-exam table.
A practical budgeting method
Create separate academic, examination, residence and living-cost lines. Keep refundable amounts outside recurring tuition when comparing the long-term cost. A fee concession needs its own applicable rule and eligibility evidence; a reservation claim does not automatically establish a concession.
Before paying, match the college and student category on the demand, retain the receipt and check the authority’s cancellation/refund conditions. A MedCollege guidance request is separate from counselling registration, college payment and seat acceptance.
Goa Medical College cutoff evidence
The table below is derived from exact-college MBBS rows marked Allotted in MCC’s final Round 1 result dated 24 August 2026. It groups candidates by allotted category, not by the candidate’s personal category. There are 37 matching allotment rows. The minimum and maximum AIR are observed extrema in that result, not an independently published official opening/closing-cutoff table.
These are NEET UG All India Ranks for All India quota. They must not be compared directly with a Goa state merit number, examination score or postgraduate rank. A larger AIR number does not mean a higher mark, and the table does not predict a future allotment.
| Allotted category | Lowest AIR observed | Highest AIR observed | Allotted rows |
|---|---|---|---|
| EWS | 10,593 | 12,621 | 4 |
| OBC | 8,402 | 10,754 | 9 |
| OBC PwD | 551,913 | 551,913 | 1 |
| Open | 3,105 | 7,243 | 14 |
| Open PwD | 388,631 | 388,631 | 1 |
| SC | 46,355 | 55,686 | 5 |
| ST | 88,155 | 90,874 | 3 |
How to use the rank rows
Start with MBBS, then choose the same authority, round, quota and allotted category. PwD categories are shown separately. When one row is observed, the displayed minimum and maximum are identical; that is not evidence of a broad admission range. An Open allotted category is a seat category, not a restriction that every candidate must belong to an unreserved personal category.
Later rounds can differ after upgrades, resignations, category changes or new seat notifications. A Round 1 result cannot establish a final-year closing rank. The observed number of allotments is not the college’s annual intake or a live vacancy count.
State quota and postgraduate limits
The exact Goa state-quota category/round rank cells were not established in this review. They remain separate from the MCC table; no state rank, score-to-rank conversion or missing opening rank is invented. The current DTE seat matrix and eligible merit list govern state participation.
MD/MS and DM/M.Ch require their own NEET PG or NEET SS evidence. Undergraduate ranks cannot be reused as postgraduate cutoffs. Use the admission route section to distinguish those processes and check current choice eligibility before taking part.
Facilities and learning at the Bambolim campus
GMC’s institutional publications describe lecture halls, departmental teaching laboratories, the medical library and separate hostels for male and female students. The useful question is how a facility supports the course you intend to study: a clinical degree requires supervised postings, while a laboratory or therapy qualification has a different practical timetable.
Medical library and study space
The library describes reference books, journals, a computer section and a separate reading room. Its published account distinguishes main-library opening from access to the reading room; those should not be merged into a claim that every library service operates round the clock. Confirm borrowing rights, current database subscriptions and the induction arrangements after enrolment.
Teaching laboratories and skills practice
The college describes laboratory teaching in foundational and diagnostic disciplines such as anatomy, physiology, microbiology and pathology. Practical learning includes safe handling of specimens, interpretation of findings and the relationship between basic science and clinical decisions. Access to advanced procedures follows training level and supervision, not simply the presence of a department.
Lecture-hall and examination-space tables show that the campus has dedicated academic spaces. Their published capacities are not used to estimate current student headcount or promise a particular lecture-group size. A current skills-lab inventory and timetable were not independently retrieved.
Hospital and community settings
The Bambolim hospital, Respiratory Medicine Hospital at St Inez and RHTC Mandur give the institutional context for clinical and community-oriented teaching. In a supervised posting, students learn assessment, communication, documentation and team-based care appropriate to their stage. A course description does not authorise unsupervised patient care.
The detailed bed-strength publication is explicitly dated 31 May 2023, and a more general about page quotes a different aggregate. This profile names the clinical settings without presenting a mixed-date sum as present capacity or converting bed numbers into a patient-load claim.
Residence, access and daily arrangements
Hostel availability depends on allocation and student eligibility, not only admission to a course. Obtain the building, room category, meal arrangements, deposit, rules and reporting time. Plan travel to Bambolim rather than assume that a directory title referring to Panaji identifies your reporting building.
Ask the college for course-specific accessibility arrangements, emergency contacts and the student grievance process. This review does not invent campus-wide Wi-Fi coverage, a gym inventory, guaranteed accommodation, transport frequency or photographs of unidentified buildings.
Clinical exposure and teaching settings
GMC’s clinical training context includes the Bambolim hospital and institutional references to the Respiratory Medicine Hospital at St Inez and RHTC Mandur. Hospital services establish a clinical setting, not an independent course permission or a promise that a student will undertake every procedure.
Learning progresses according to qualification and level: history-taking and examination, clinical reasoning, records, investigations and supervised practice have different responsibilities. Confirm your batch’s ward and community posting roster, assessment requirements and supervision.
The detailed infrastructure bed table is dated May 2023. No bed-to-student ratio or current annual patient volume has been inferred from it. Neither a historical capacity nor a large hospital name is a substitute for a dated teaching timetable.
Hostel planning for the Bambolim campus
The institution describes separate hostels for male and female students. Published accommodation facilities do not establish a room for every admitted candidate. Request the allocation process, room sharing, check-in requirements and applicable rules for your qualification.
Budget hostel rent, maintenance, refundable deposits, mess advance and actual meal expenses separately. A current itemised residential schedule was not obtained, so there is no invented annual accommodation total.
Check the location of the allocated building relative to your reporting department, practical timings and any clinical posting. Keep the hostel receipt and refund conditions separate from the academic admission receipt.
A practical comparison checklist
Use these questions to compare this exact campus with your other options. They are planning questions, not claims that an unverified facility or concession exists here.
| Decision | What to compare | What not to assume |
|---|---|---|
| Academic fit | The named qualification and subject focus | A hospital department is automatically a degree |
| Cost | Same programme, category, year and payment period | A joining demand is the full course cost |
| Location | Teaching, clinical and reporting venues | A city name identifies every campus building |
| Accommodation | Room allocation and separately stated charges | An academic seat guarantees a room |
| Historical ranks | Same authority, course, round, category and rank scale | Past allotment means a future guarantee |
Questions to resolve before choosing Goa Medical College
The guidance below explains how to use this college’s information. It does not assert that an undocumented facility, fee concession, outcome or service is available at this campus.
Match the qualification to the decision you are making
Before comparing colleges, decide what qualification you are actually considering. An undergraduate applicant, a doctor seeking specialist training and a graduate considering an allied-health qualification are making different decisions. Start with the individually named course, then read its entry qualification, training period and admission route. A large teaching hospital may offer many services without every service being a separately approved degree. Likewise, a college may have more than one qualification in the same subject area. Use the exact course title in your notes and enquiries so that a helpful answer about one programme is not mistaken for an answer about another.
Separate the college, university and hospital
These names answer different questions. The college identifies the institution providing the teaching; the university identifies the academic relationship described for the qualification; the teaching hospital identifies a clinical learning setting. They may share a familiar local name without being interchangeable. When reading a document, check which organisation issued it and whether it refers to the same campus. A university-wide announcement does not automatically apply to every constituent college, and a hospital anniversary is not necessarily the medical college’s foundation date. Keep the three identities together when you compare academic information, reporting instructions and campus locations.
Questions about Goa Medical College?
Discuss the qualification, fee scope and admission research with MedCollege. Guidance is separate from college allotment and reporting.
Read intake as a dated programme figure
An intake reference describes the capacity recorded in a particular source for a particular qualification. It does not tell you how many seats remain available today or how many places are available to your category. Keep the academic year and the date of the list with the number. Counselling availability may be divided across authorities, quotas, categories and rounds, and it can change during an admission process. For a practical shortlist, retain one column for dated programme intake and a separate note for the applicable round’s seat matrix. Do not calculate your admission chances merely by dividing the intake by an applicant count.
Understand the difference between eligibility and selection
Meeting a course’s eligibility conditions allows a candidate to participate in the relevant process; it is not the same as obtaining a seat. Selection can also depend on examination performance, the admission category, document verification, the choices entered and the seats available in that round. The exact combination varies by qualification and authority. Write down which requirement belongs to which stage. For example, a qualification document supports academic eligibility, while an allotment letter records a particular allocation. Keeping those stages separate helps prevent a reassuring general eligibility statement from being read as a promise of admission to this institution.
Prepare for counselling as a sequence of decisions
Registration, payment where required, document processing, choice entry, allotment and college reporting are distinct steps. Read the instructions for the authority handling your exact category instead of assuming that one registration covers every route. Keep a dated copy of submitted choices and payment acknowledgements. When considering a subsequent round, understand how retaining, upgrading, resigning or joining may affect your position under that round’s rules. Do not rely on a previous year’s deadline or a message about another category. A clear sequence of completed steps is more useful than an informal assurance that an application has been done.
Questions about Goa Medical College?
Discuss the qualification, fee scope and admission research with MedCollege. Guidance is separate from college allotment and reporting.
Location and visit planning
Goa Medical College is identified in Bambolim, Goa. Use the documented campus and reporting information retained above when planning a visit. A city label alone is not a verified map pin; no unconfirmed coordinates are plotted.
View campus and contact information
Overview expanded 22 October 2026. Institution-specific statements retain their original source years and scope. The separate student-planning material is guidance, not additional evidence of college facilities or outcomes. No whole-profile verification is implied.
Location & map
Interactive map provided by Google Maps. Map controls may open Google Maps.
Location reference
Goa Medical College, Panaji
Goa Medical College and Hospital, Bambolim, Tiswadi, Goa 403202
This map searches for the institution and locality. Check the selected destination and your reporting instructions before travelling; the result is not a confirmed campus entrance.
College contact & reporting guidance