Government McGann Hospital
The institutional account identifies McGann as the medical college’s teaching hospital and a healthcare setting for the surrounding district.

Sagar Road, McGann Hospital campus, Shivamogga
Each image retains its date and credit. Historical views may differ from the campus today.
Photograph unavailable. Please try again later.MEDICINE · SHIMOGA · GOVERNMENT
SIMS is the government medical institution on Sagar Road in Shivamogga. The district and RGUHS directories identify the campus; allotment material specifies the McGann Hospital campus. Shimoga and Shivamogga are naming variants used in the institution’s published records, not two different medical colleges.
SIMS is the government medical institution on Sagar Road in Shivamogga. The district and RGUHS directories identify the campus; allotment material specifies the McGann Hospital campus. Shimoga and Shivamogga are naming variants used in the institution’s published records, not two different medical colleges.
Shimoga Institute of Medical Sciences, Shimoga is matched to NMC institution code KA/054/G/1. The reviewed medical catalogue contains 1 MBBS, 14 MD, 5 MS. The location used in the college snapshot is Sagar Road, McGann Hospital campus, Shivamogga.
The undergraduate and postgraduate catalogue is drawn from separate dated NMC tables for AY 2026–27. It records the named qualification and annual intake, rather than current vacant seats, hospital workload or an admission guarantee. The college’s hospital and learning-resource descriptions are presented alongside those academic records, with their original source scope retained.
| College detail | Reference |
|---|---|
| Institution | Shimoga Institute of Medical Sciences, Shimoga |
| Campus address | Sagar Road, McGann Hospital campus, Shivamogga |
| NMC identity | KA/054/G/1 |
| MBBS intake | 150 · NMC 18 September 2026 · AY 2026–27 |
| Named qualifications | 1 MBBS, 14 MD, 5 MS |
| KEA result-row code | M063MG |
SIMS Shivamogga has 1 MBBS, 14 MD, 5 MS in the reviewed medical catalogue. Each entry is a named degree-and-specialty combination. The Courses page keeps the duration, eligibility, examination/counselling route, dated intake and fee scope together on its individual cards.
MBBS provides the undergraduate medical pathway. MD and MS are specialty qualifications entered after an eligible MBBS/internship/registration pathway and the relevant NEET PG process.
| Named qualification | Dated annual intake | NMC table date |
|---|---|---|
| MBBS | 150 | 18 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. BioChemistry | 1 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. General Medicine | 13 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. Pharmacology | 1 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.S. Obstetrics and Gynaecology | 9 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. Pathology | 11 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. Paediatrics | 7 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. Anaesthesiology | 10 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. Physiology | 1 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. Anatomy | 2 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. Microbiology | 1 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. Forensic Medicine and Toxicology/Forensic Medicine | 2 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.S. Orthopaedics | 7 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.S. Ophthalmology | 5 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.S. General Surgery | 11 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. Dermatology, Venereology and Leprosy/Dermatology | 5 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.S. Otorhinolaryngology/ENT | 4 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. Radio-Diagnosis /Radiology | 5 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. Community Medicine/Social & Preventive Medicine | 5 | 29 Sep 2026 |
| M.D. Psychiatry | 2 | 29 Sep 2026 |
The institutional account identifies McGann as the medical college’s teaching hospital and a healthcare setting for the surrounding district.
The named MBBS, MD and MS catalogue provides the qualification scope. The clinical timetable and supervision determine postings; service descriptions do not establish individual procedural experience.
The MBBS academic phase and compulsory rotating internship are different parts of training. The published course duration used here is 4½ academic years plus one internship year. Clinical postings, case discussions and supervised responsibilities follow the programme stage and assigned unit, rather than the number of hospital services named on a website.
At postgraduate level, the individual specialty matters. The catalogue above identifies the named medical or surgical qualification and its dated intake. A department’s existence alone has not been used to invent another current degree, seat count or guaranteed procedure volume.
| Programme level | Examination | Counselling scope |
|---|---|---|
| MBBS | NEET UG | KEA: applicable Karnataka state seats; MCC: applicable All India quota seats |
| MD / MS | NEET PG | Applicable state or All India quota counselling and specialty eligibility |
Complete the examination process for the named qualification. MBBS, MD/MS and any listed super-speciality entry routes are different; a postgraduate route does not belong on the MBBS card.
Registration, eligibility claims and choice filling belong to the applicable counselling authority. Match Shimoga Institute of Medical Sciences, Shimoga and the allotted qualification, category and quota.
Reporting follows allotment. The applicable instructions determine the required examination/allotment records, qualifying certificates, identity documents and certificates supporting a category claim.
The joining notice and prior payment receipts determine the authorised payment or balance. Accommodation allocation and its bill remain separate from completing the academic admission.
The institutional address reference is Sagar Road, McGann Hospital campus, Shivamogga. Counselling registration, the allotment result and college reporting are separate stages. The detailed Admissions section retains the college’s available reporting material; this profile does not invent deadlines, an online-only joining option or a seat reservation through an enquiry form.
Read SIMS Shivamogga admissions →SIMS Shivamogga has a selected GM result row in KEA’s 2026 Round 2 final allotment list, published 16 September 2026. It records ₹64,350 as a course-fee field for M063MG. The payment period is not specified in that result row: the figure is not automatically recurring annual tuition or a full-course academic cost.
A complete current SIMS Shivamogga itemised academic joining schedule is not established in the material used here. No total for all years, PG specialties, hostel/mess or refundable deposits is inferred from the KEA result field.
| Programme / seat label | Allotted category | Course-fee field (INR) | Payment period |
|---|---|---|---|
| MBBS-GOVT. · M063MG | GM | 64,350 | Not specified in this result row |
The detailed Fees page keeps source years, quota conditions and payment periods visible. A result-row fee, a college joining bill, hostel allocation and monthly mess expenses can describe different or overlapping payments; only components with a legitimate common scope can be added.
Open the detailed fee tables →The institutional overview and contact directory identify boys’ and girls’ hostels. The material used here does not quote a current applicable accommodation, mess and deposit schedule or promise a room with every academic allotment.
Academic fees and accommodation costs are shown separately. Refundable deposits retain their own recovery conditions; monthly mess, utilities and personal expenditure do not become part of a quoted academic tuition amount. The presence of a hostel in an institutional description does not establish a current room allotment.
SIMS Shivamogga hostel information →The college’s detailed Cutoffs section keeps MCC 2026 All India quota observations separate from selected historical KEA 2024 Round 2 category cells. The overview below uses the allotted Open category and NEET All India Rank. Candidate category, allotment category and Karnataka state reservation labels are not interchangeable.
| MCC 2026 round | Lowest observed NEET AIR | Highest observed NEET AIR |
|---|---|---|
| Round 1 | 4,450 | 10,943 |
| Round 2 | 9,929 | 17,984 |
| Round 3 | 17,310 | 19,023 |
These are observed allocation endpoints from retained result extracts. They are not invented future opening/closing ranks, marks conversions or a promise of admission. The underlying course, year, round, quota, category and rank scale stay with every number.
See all retained category/round tables →Explore in four steps
Browse 20 named qualifications with duration, route and dated intake.
Explore courses →Read the exact college’s academic and living-cost scope separately.
See fee details →Compare the same year, quota, allotted category and rank scale.
Explore cutoffs →Follow the applicable examination, counselling and reporting stages.
Admission steps →Academic data in context
4.5 academic years · 81.8% of published duration
1 internship year · 18.2% of published duration
Duration composition. This is not a student, seat or placement chart.
| MBBS phase | Duration | Share of the 5.5-year programme |
|---|---|---|
| Academic study | 4.5 years | 81.8% |
| Compulsory rotating internship | 1 year | 18.2% |
The institutional overview lists laboratories, museums, lecture halls, examination space and an auditorium.
The retained library account describes textbook/periodical sections, audiovisual resources, own-book reading space, digital-library facilities, HELINET, literature searching, bibliographic help, printing and photocopying.
The descriptions above concern SIMS Shivamogga. Campus-service descriptions are kept separate from the verified degree catalogue, annual intake and counselling result tables. No placement rate, salary, laboratory capacity or student review is manufactured from a facilities list.
Read the facilities section →Sagar Road, McGann Hospital campus, Shivamogga. Shimoga Institute of Medical Sciences, Shimoga is the exact college identity used in this profile. Hospital postings and accommodation can involve additional assigned locations; the map query identifies the institution rather than a surveyed campus boundary.
Shimoga Institute of Medical Sciences, Shimoga, at Sagar Road, McGann Hospital campus, Shivamogga. The NMC college code isKA/054/G/1.
150 annual MBBS places in the NMC 18 September 2026 table for AY 2026–27. This is institutional intake, not a current vacancy list.
20 named entries: 1 MBBS, 14 MD, 5 MS. Each qualification has its own dated intake; the number of entries is not a seat total.
NEET UG. Applicable Karnataka state seats use KEA counselling; applicable All India quota seats use MCC. Eligibility, counselling registration and college reporting are separate stages.
The listed MD/MS qualifications use the relevant NEET PG pathway and applicable quota counselling.
The institutional account identifies McGann as the medical college’s teaching hospital and a healthcare setting for the surrounding district. The named MBBS, MD and MS catalogue provides the qualification scope. The clinical timetable and supervision determine postings; service descriptions do not establish individual procedural experience.
The institutional overview lists laboratories, museums, lecture halls, examination space and an auditorium. The retained library account describes textbook/periodical sections, audiovisual resources, own-book reading space, digital-library facilities, HELINET, literature searching, bibliographic help, printing and photocopying.
SIMS Shivamogga has a selected GM result row in KEA’s 2026 Round 2 final allotment list, published 16 September 2026. It records ₹64,350 as a course-fee field for M063MG. The payment period is not specified in that result row: the figure is not automatically recurring annual tuition or a full-course academic cost.
The institutional overview and contact directory identify boys’ and girls’ hostels. The material used here does not quote a current applicable accommodation, mess and deposit schedule or promise a room with every academic allotment.
No. The MCC 2026 observations use All India quota, allotted category and NEET AIR. The selected KEA 2024 rows retain their own year, round and headings. Different authorities and rank scales are not combined.
It does not quote an institution-wide verified salary or placement series. Internship, postgraduate study and later employment are distinct pathways.
No. It requests course guidance. It does not replace examination registration, counselling choices, a college application requirement or institutional reporting.
MEDCOLLEGE GUIDANCE
Discuss the qualification, counselling quota or fee scope that matters to you.
Design updated 26 October 2026. Intake and financial records retain their stated academic year and scope. Institutional descriptions retain the earlier 19 September 2026 source-review scope; this is not a fresh physical facilities inspection. Counselling observations are retained extracts, not predictions.
0 colleges selectedAdd up to four colleges to compare