Clinical exposure & teaching hospital
The college and hospital share a campus, with clinical services ranging from general medicine and surgery to paediatrics, women’s health, orthopaedics, emergency care and diagnostics. The source service directory also includes cardiology and urology. Listed services are not evidence of independently available postgraduate degrees in every specialty.
The news archive describes an immunohistochemistry laboratory, a CEmONC building opened in September 2022 and Radiation Oncology inaugurated in March 2026. The available material does not establish student procedure totals, equipment uptime or every clinical rotation schedule.
| Service |
|---|
| General Medicine |
| General Surgery |
| ENT |
| Paediatrics |
| Orthopaedics |
| Ophthalmology |
| Obstetrics and Gynaecology |
| Dermatology |
| Psychiatry |
| Non-communicable disease clinic |
| Geriatrics |
| Emergency Medicine |
| Urology |
| Thoracic / Respiratory Medicine |
| Cardiology |
| Anaesthesiology |
| Radiodiagnosis |
| Dental Surgery |
| Specialty / total | Listed beds |
|---|---|
| General Medicine | 120 |
| Paediatrics | 120 |
| Respiratory Medicine | 10 |
| Dermatology | 10 |
| Psychiatry | 10 |
| General Surgery | 120 |
| Orthopaedics | 120 |
| Ophthalmology | 10 |
| ENT | 10 |
| Obstetrics and Gynaecology · label corrupted in source | 650 |
| Emergency Department | 50 |
| Published total | 1230 |
The 650-bed row contains a corrupted Obstetrics/Gynaecology label. The table sums to 1,230, but a separate proforma gives 830 beds and 60 emergency beds. Neither is certified as current usable capacity.
| Field | Published number | Qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Total beds | 830 | Conflicts with clinical page total 1,230 |
| Emergency beds | 60 | Clinical page says 50 |
| Inpatients registered/admitted | 6491 | Reporting interval not stated |
| Outpatients registered | 63867 | Reporting interval not stated |
Do not annualise these patient counts or label them unique annual patients. A dated reconciled hospital report is required.
| Area | Ask the department |
|---|---|
| Rotation plan | Which units, weeks and supervised duties apply to my course? |
| Practical exposure | What can students observe, assist or perform under supervision? |
| Emergency duty | What supervision, induction and reporting system operate? |
| Patient safety | How consent, privacy and infection-control requirements are taught |
| Logbooks | How work is recorded, reviewed and signed |
| Research access | What approvals and mentorship are required before collecting data |
Evidence context: existing college material reviewed 2026-09-24. Added institutional context reviewed 15 October 2026. Individual tables retain their own source years; no new historical series is implied.