India's medical and pharmacy education discovery platform
Pharmacy courses NEET resources Counselling help
GMC

Govt. Mohan Kumaramangalam Medical College, Salem — Clinical Exposure

Salem, Tamil NaduGovernmentMBBS · institutional training
Government collegeNEET-UG · MBBSSalem

Clinical exposure & teaching hospital

The hospital provides broad and superspecialty services, including emergency care, medicine, surgery, paediatrics, women’s health, renal care and interventional disciplines. The institutional history gives 1,642 beds and annual OP/IP figures without a named reporting year. These are published references, not an independently reconciled current capacity statement.

Department evidence: GMKMC department of general medicine. Figures are source-specific and should not be added to produce an institution total.

Department evidence: GMKMC emergency department. Figures are source-specific and should not be added to produce an institution total.

Department evidence: GMKMC department of nephrology. Figures are source-specific and should not be added to produce an institution total.

Department evidence: GMKMC department of cardiology. Figures are source-specific and should not be added to produce an institution total.

Department evidence: GMKMC department of neurology. Figures are source-specific and should not be added to produce an institution total.

Department evidence: GMKMC department of urology. Figures are source-specific and should not be added to produce an institution total.

Department evidence: GMKMC department of ent. Figures are source-specific and should not be added to produce an institution total.

Department evidence: GMKMC department of psychiatry. Figures are source-specific and should not be added to produce an institution total.

A hospital’s workload alone does not show how much supervised responsibility an individual student receives. Ask about bedside teaching, case logs, rotation allocation, skills assessment and supervision during nights and emergencies. Published service availability is not a promise of independent student practice.

Institution-wide figures · source year not specified
MeasurePublished figureInterpretation
Beds1642Undated history-page statement
Annual OPD935917Reporting year not identified
Annual IPD489889Source does not define admissions versus patient-days

Do not derive occupancy, daily admissions or length of stay from these undated, undefined measures.

Departmental facilities · published references
DepartmentFacilities or capacityScope
General Medicine240-bed individual block; OP, medical ICU and teaching areasDepartment page; undated
EmergencyER plus red, yellow and green zonesTriage and observation infrastructure
Nephrology30 beds, 18 dialysis machines, 2 CRRT referencesUndated department inventory
Cardiology30-bed ward and 10-bed coronary care unitUndated department description
Neurology15 male + 15 female beds and 4 hybrid ICU referencesDepartment description
Urology40 bedsDepartment description
ENT40 beds and endoscopy facilitiesDepartment description
Psychiatry40-bed reference plus 10 ECRC places in a separate listingDo not silently merge categories
Emergency workload · reporting period unspecified
MeasureMonthly average as published
OP8000
IP3700
STEMI category120
Toxicology category400
Trauma category870

Selected categories only. They are not an exhaustive breakdown and are not interpreted as 2026 volumes.

Paediatric OP activity · 2013–October 2022
YearTotal Outpatients Treated
201339903
201450341
201561826
201644529
201754397
201836824
201942035
202012320
202111132
2022 (till Oct)17786

Historic department series. Partial 2022 figures must not be compared directly with full years.

Paediatric inpatient activity · 2013–October 2022
YearPatients Treated
20134409
20144806
20156065
20165556
201712319
20185488
20196567
20202451
20213688
2022 (till Oct)3824

Historic department series. Partial 2022 figures must not be compared directly with full years.

Orthopaedic activity · 2019–2021
Particulars201920202021
TOTAL NUMBER OF PATIENTS IN OPD841883364647523
TOTAL NUMBER OF PATIENTS IN IPD425927433823
TOTAL NUMBER OF MAJOR OPERATIONS272011982432
TOTAL NUMBER OF MINOR OPERATIONS247111393521
TOTAL NUMBER OF DAY CARE OPERATIONS13784301280
AVERAGE DAILY CONSUMPTION OF BLOOD UNITS15919

Historic department series. Partial 2022 figures must not be compared directly with full years.

Cardiology activity · historical series
YearReported OP totalIPECGEchoCoronary angiographyPTCA
2010117090555698525299--
2011125457645666513798--
201211698576284431597326-
20131266908951050518447430-
20141254889871376225020452-
20151516251064130282925547840
20161484371110146223001938444
20171698001171138582697458997
201815108011822879233245843199
201912605314053332534785949235
20206781311411404422768461158
20215659013092137527390724217
2022 (upto Nov 12)6155618772436038290911372

The 2021 reported total 56,590 differs from new plus old cases (24,962 + 31,205 = 56,167). Retained as reported with the discrepancy disclosed. 2022 ends on 12 November; dashes mean not reported.

Obstetrics/Gynaecology describes 472 beds in its introduction and 360 in another capacity section. This review does not choose one as a verified current figure. Likewise, an older radiotherapy expansion described as expected in November 2022 is not treated as completed without newer evidence.

Evidence context: existing college material reviewed 2026-09-24. Added institutional context reviewed 15 October 2026. Individual tables retain their own source years; no new historical series is implied.

Updated 30 October 2026. Figures retain the document periods stated beside them.

Compare0 Get Counselling
⇄

0 colleges selectedAdd up to four colleges to compare

Compare now →