India's medical and pharmacy education discovery platform
Pharmacy courses NEET resources Counselling help

Kanyakumari GMC Clinical Exposure

Kanyakumari GMC, Tamil NaduGovernmentTamil Nadu · Medicine

MBBS: NEET-UG; applicable state / All India counselling

MBBS intake referenceSee course tableDated intake and catalogue scope shown separately
Named course entries25Catalogue entries, not total seats
College typeGovernmentKanyakumari GMC, Tamil Nadu
Fee informationProgramme & quotaRead the dated programme and quota tables

Clinical exposure & teaching hospital

The college publishes a 2025 department-wise surgical activity table and a separate citizen charter headed performance in 2024. These periods are kept separate. Counts describe reported hospital activity and cannot establish the number of procedures performed by each student.

The proforma and charter bed numbers differ. No single “current bed strength” is asserted. The institution reported opening a new MRI on 25 February 2026, a dated development that does not by itself establish a new daily imaging throughput.

Surgical activity · 2025
Department / service labelMajorMinorTotal
General Surgery28972183724734
Plastic Surgery35531753530
Neuro Surgery41676492
Urology Surgery373136509
Vascular Surgery246163409
Paediatric Surgery14274216
Surgical Gastro Entrology184121305
ENT Surgery60952185827
OPTHALMIC SURGERY186626214487
Ortho surgeries14051891220317
CATH LAB64304368
Dental Surgeries10311631266
O & G Surgeries214041136253
ONCOLOGY SURGERY193268461

Categories retain the source’s classification, including Cath Lab. They are not a uniform measure of operative complexity.

Published surgical totals · 2025
CategoryPublished count
Major10993
Minor58181
Combined69174
Citizen charter · 2024 performance
MeasureFigureUnit
Bed strength1102Beds in 2024 disclosure
Outpatients2197Per day
Inpatient census918Per day
Ultrasound95Per day
CT35Per day
MRI11Per day
Other hospital disclosures and their limits
SourceFigureQualification
Key-information page2,243 daily OP; 99% bed occupancyPeriod not stated for these headline averages
College proforma840 beds; 30 emergency bedsUndated; does not reconcile with 2024 charter
Proforma previous-month records7,234 inpatients and 66,435 outpatientsMonth unnamed; not reported here as current monthly activity
Services described in the citizen charter
AreaPublished service examples
Emergency and maternityEmergency care and CEmONC maternity services
Diagnostic imagingX-ray, ultrasound, CT, MRI and mammography
Procedural supportC-arm, ventilator, dialysis, bronchoscopy and cystoscopy
Specialist careCath Lab, dental services and specialist outpatient/inpatient care

Service descriptions are institutional statements, not a guarantee of real-time availability or a treatment recommendation.

Questions about clinical learning
Ask aboutWhy it matters
Posting timetableDistribution of ward, OP, emergency and community rotations
SupervisionHow procedures and clinical decisions are reviewed
AssessmentLogbook, feedback and competency sign-off
Unit sizeNumber of trainees sharing available learning opportunities
Emergency dutiesOrientation, escalation and rest arrangements

Evidence context: existing college material reviewed 2026-09-24. Added institutional context reviewed 15 October 2026. Individual tables retain their own source years; no new historical series is implied.

Compare0 Get Counselling
⇄

0 colleges selectedAdd up to four colleges to compare

Compare now →